Which Way Is Up

 

    

 I’ve always been curious about the Universe; the galaxies, nebulae, the stars and so forth.  Even the word loosely translated means Uni (one) – Verse (Collection of words by an author or writer).  Hmm…One of the things that still intrigues me to this day is our prospective of said Universe.  Given the fact that no matter where we stand on the Earth, from our prospective, we’re standing on top of it.  Here in Atlanta, from the Earth’s prospective, we’re actually on the side of the world.  Well how is it  then that we appear to be looking up at the moon or the sun?  According to the models that I’ve seen, we’re actually looking ‘over’ at these celestial bodies, not up. 

     Here again we’re faced with accepting what has been given to us as truth, when in fact, the truth is relative to how much we know at the time.  Let’s examine a few of these now debunked truths shall we?

  • The Earth is flat –  Aristotle offered evidence of the Earth was a sphere around 330 BC
  • The Sun revolves around the earth – In the 1600’s Galileo was met with stiff opposition from philosophers and clerics for his support of the heliocentric theory (belief that the Sun is at the center of the Solar System)
  • Y2k is Armageddon – We’re still here
  • Smart people are witches – Are you a witch?…Well are you?

     I could go on and on but the point is, no matter what was said to the people who believed these theories, they were sold on these ‘facts’.  I have a real problem accepting my role as the customer.  That is to say I’m tired of buying everything presented to me with alluring packaging.    I’ll only use myself as an example since I know I’m the only one who does this.

     When will we become the merchants of our lives?  When will we choose to control the products/information that we consume?  We don’t even question the information that has been given to us, that we base our everyday lives on!  Why? Well, that would make us rebels, weird or different.  People would laugh at us for not being as ignorant as they are….really? 

 Why stand on top of a world of which you have no control?

That’s all for now,

T Scott

One response to “Which Way Is Up

  1. Hey this has really enlightened me. As well as answered a lot of questions that I’ve had! Thanks and keep writing!

Leave a Reply

