Leave God Alone

    

      I recall a song that was always sang in the church my family attended when I was a little boy.  The song was called “Jesus Will Work It Out”.  Whenever someone would sing that song, the church would go nuts.  As the singer continued onto the chorus, “Even got a light bill due, even got a gas bill too, I turned it over to the lord and he worked it out…”

     Now, as with earlier posts, my goal is to get us to become more responsible for ourselves and our own actions.  It seems that our reactive mind-sets have allowed for sub-par performances in our lives far too long.  Too many of us depend on God for the wrong things.  God didn’t cause you to lose your temper at work and curse your boss and get fired.  Now you want him to help you pay your light bill…And your gas bill too? 

     We go to God for aches and pains, this and that when he already gave you the power to fix these things yourself!  Yes, even your temper.  However, we’ve been conditioned to sit back and allow things to be given to us, paid for us and so on.  Imagine if you were giving to yourself as much as you expect others to give to you. 

     Now why should we leave God alone with all of this non-sense?  Because when you actually get the concept of what God is, you’ll see how much of an untapped resource you’ve been sitting on.  You see, God as I know it to be, cannot even be classified as a him.  That’s a human personification of something that we don’t understand.  There are other dimensions of life right here on earth that we could explore if we weren’t focused on going to the club tonight.  Then you’re praying to God again because you went home drunk with someone and you don’t remember what happened!  And the cycle continues.

        I hear all the time now from anyone I discuss this matter with, “well I’m not religious, I’m spiritual”.  I just continue the conversation because I know what they mean but I don’t know if they know a lot of the time what they mean.  For example, one definition of religious is: a member of an order or congregation living by such a rule.  Now most of these individuals are devout church members and do all that they can to live by the ‘rule’ of their ‘religion’.  So, how are they not religious?  The next thing I’d ask would be, “What’s the difference between right or wrong and good or bad?  Why is it that I can do good all of my life and still go to hell and someone else can do bad their entire life and go to heaven(as long as they repent)?  How does spirituality help answer this question?”  This normally changes the direction of the conversation.  Anger typically follows and an argument ensues. 

     Now let’s go back for a second to ‘suggestibility’.  What we believe in has been suggested to us from birth.  Even if you’ve gone the opposite direction than you were taught, you’re going that way to spite what was suggested to you.  Which brings us to our belief systems.  I dare you to speak on a topic that is contrary to someone’s belief system about anything and discover the voracity in which the person defends it.  This again is the power of suggestibility.  “This is what I believe, and no one can tell me differently!”

     Well I am here to tell you differently.  We are capable of so much more than we even realize.  We’ve been mentally institutionalize to believe that this is all that Life has to offer.  We live, we die, we go to heaven or hell and live eternity there.  Well I’ll be honest, I don’t know what happens after we die, I haven’t spoken to anyone who died and came back to tell me what happens either.  What I do know is what’s going on right now while I’m alive and what I can do about it.  If we weren’t meant to be in control of our own lives then why on earth are we here?

Pleeeaaassseee……Dehypnotize

T Scott

11 responses to “Leave God Alone

  1. You seem to subscribe to the same reality that I do – and that is that many of the things we think we know about God and the realities of Him (or Her) are not known realities at all, they are presumptions of reality based on our human frame of reference. But, we don’t know THE TRUTH, we can’t know THE TRUTH, because as you say no one has ever gone there and come back to report THE TRUTH. Can you really do bad all your life and still go to heaven as long as you repent – or is that too another presumption? How do we know that to be the case. I personally don’t think it can be that cut and dried – there has to be more to it than that. Maybe you go to heaven but you’re on probation throughout eternity. Now that’s about as human presumptive as you can get. Right?

    • Lady With A Pencil, that’s a cool blog name. I like it. I am a nut for the teachings of Jesus. The more I know, the more I need to do since we are judged according to what we know. This is a pretty cool blog! It meets one of my major interests in life. My choice was down to two. I was either going to be a preacher or a teacher. I went with teaching.

      • Hey Ron thanks for stopping by. I think as a teacher, you are one of the most important people in our society. Thanks for your work and it sounds like our future may be looking a little brighter with teachers like you around…

Leave a Reply

