The Silver Tongue

In high school I was the quiet type.  I envied the guys with the ‘silver tongue’ method of communicating; it seemed that they got all the women.  Now I had my share of girlfriends don’t get me wrong, but compared to these guys I was a ranked amatuer.  Most of the girls I dated was because they liked me first, then I’d learn to like them in return.  It seemed that I was doomed to the left overs of these egotistical word smiths. 

Until one day…I moved to a new city.  I could create a new identity and become the personality I admired from a diistance.  The city was overrun with beautiful single professional women.  A friend told me that all I needed to get a woman here was a nice haircut…Ha.  I was like a kid in a candy store…every size, shape or shade was there for the taking.  I didn’t know where to begin.  It didn’t matter, because in this city, the women were the agressors.  I thought it was a fluke that  nice looking women wanted to talk to me badly enough to innitiate conversation.  Once it happened five more times…I was convenced that I’d died and gone to heaven.  I never considered my self some god of good looks (and still don’t) but there were so many women that I was getting dates by default..lol.  Subsequently my plan to become this A type personality was thwarted.  Women actually liked that I was not like all the other guys that approached them…I was ‘different’ they’d say.  I had no idea that this world existed but I liked it to say the least.

At the end of the day I learned that you don’t have to be someone else to be successful in life…you only need to put yourself where your personality would be most effective.

P.S. The silver tongue method can be taught.

– Dehypnotize

4 responses to “The Silver Tongue

  1. I had the same experience when I left home for college. I think a lot of people do; part of it is leaving the town where everyone you know has preconceptions about you and they’ve witnessed all your failures (and forgotten most of your triumphs).

Leave a Reply

