Shopaholics!

As the holiday season gets into full swing, I thought about how much revenue is generated globally in just two months out of the year.  Wow!  How is it  possible to get almost the entire world in synch to buy, shop and spend their annual salaries on things that this time next year will mean absolutely nothing!  That’s why we’re buying new things the next year (smh).  Now don’t get me wrong, I know that this is supposed to be the time of year that we give thanks for life and the blessings that we’ve come to know.  Why then does it only happen once a year and why does it cost so much?

Well, it all has to do with our suggestibility.  How we receive information and process it.  There are a number of people who have a distrust for psychology or shrinks or even the thought of someone ‘reading’ their mind.  I’d like to let you in on a little secret…that’s happening whether you like/know it or not.  The shoes that you’re wearing now you feel that you chose them through your own free will right?  What about the computer or smart phone that you’re reading this blog from?  Your choice too?  Not likely.

Let me give you an example:  Have you ever heard a song on the radio and thought,”This song is horrible”, but two weeks later you’re screaming “That’s my song!”?  Well, what on earth happened?  Ladies, what about the guy that you started off not liking at all but he kept coming around, kept calling until one day you thought, hmm..”.well maybe he’s not that bad.”  What happened there?  Again it is our suggestibility.  Every conversation that you have you’re suggesting something to someone and/or they’re suggesting something to you.  The more a thing is suggested the more you become familiar with it and the more open you become to the idea.  In other words we begin to ‘buy into it’ and we’ve been given an unlimited supply of  resources.

My point here is that everything…Everything that we believe or think about what we call life has been suggested to us by someone or by experience.  The things that we reject or accept are all based on our familiarity with them.  Ponder with me for a moment…what is it that we really know?  My answer is…nothing!  The only thing that we come close to knowing is what we’ve experienced (barely) and the rest is something we believe.  I think it’s important to point this out because we hold so firmly to what we think we ‘know’ and we’re willing to die or kill based on information that someone else gave to us.

I’ve decided to no longer play the role of the ‘customer’, buying into everything.  I decided rather, to become the merchant or at least the master of my suggestibility.  Ask yourself that question; why do I believe what I do?  Where did what I belive come from?  I’m not suggesting that you change your belief systems, I’m only saying to become aware of them.  Don’t believe what you do because your mother said to do so, believe it because after doing your due diligence this is what makes the most sense for you. You wouldn’t believe how many issues could be avoided if we only saw that our beliefs are just that…individual beliefs!  We have to stop demonizing,  isolating and demoralizing people who have different beliefs than ourselves, if for no other reason…you may find yourself needing these same people when all the stores close….Happy Holidays!

-Dehypnotize

24 responses to “Shopaholics!

  1. Wow, I’ll definitely be more aware of the REASON why I want certain items the next time I go to my favorite mall. I’ll be honest, though. I’m definitely sure I do have a mind of my own. There are certain things that my girlfriend love, like the leopard pattern print. I, for one, hate it, even though I know it does look good on me. To this day, neither one of us have changed our minds. Although how I converted from stores like Hollister and Aeropostale to stores like Express and New York and Company is, um, questionable. 🙂

  2. You are so right. We certainly are open to suggestion! I’ve done that so much where at first I’ll think a style is soooo ugly and then after everyone is wearing it, I start to really like it. It really takes a conscious effort to not fall into the herd mentality! Thanks for the reminder! 🙂

  3. Great read! At least at this time of year there are only three people who suggest anything to me (thankfully). I never leave the house to shop anymore I hate malls and crowds and I limit my spend, refusing to go into debt for nonsense (though my grandson tempts me).

    I do know the though the temptation of suggestibility. To be drawn in by the hype, it is all around us isn’t it. Not just with the buying cycle but with so many other things in our lives.

  4. Lovely post – I started to question my belief system some time ago and let go of quite a few…I had inherited some beliefs and they didn’t fit with me…it takes time to spot this though, considerable time in some cases! Thanks for the post.

  5. it really pays not to be typecast as a stereo-typed shop-a-holic. Deviating from the “norm” definitely adds to being a keen, practical and intelligent shopper. 🙂

  6. Sadly, the commercial suggestibility starts young. I already witness it daily in my two kids (only 2.5 and 4 years old)! Thanks for the post.

    • Hey MM, thanks for dropping by and responding! I guess the really sad thing is that its not limited to the commercial setting. We’re getting it though, hopefully we’ll teach our kids these lessons earlier than we were taght them. Thanks again for dropping by.

  7. Thanks for dropping by my blog.

    I love this article. And I hate this time of year. Everywhere is full of people spending money they don’t have on things that will most likely be discarded by February.

    I’m definitely a goat (make my own path) and not a sheep (follow the herd) kind of person. I’m currently separating myself from some ‘friends’ whose main concern is who is in the latest reality TV programme and who they want to win. Even my lucky escape from breast cancer at the beginning of the year got 10 minutes of their attention before they were back to their usual ways.

    • Hey Anaya,congrats on your victory over breast cancer!! Sometimes it takes our lives slowing down for us to realize what life really is. Don’t give up on your friends…they’ll come around with your help..

Leave a Reply

