How Suggestibility Killed Trayvon Martin ll

In the earlier post I discussed how easily one can get caught up in sudden rage and instantly become a victim of the very evil that caused that rage in the first place.  This post is to bring to light how suggestibility caused this and how its now shaping the emotional environment of argument.  As the nation rallies around the Martin family and the shouts for justice  grow ever louder, when this is all over two lives will have been ruined and millions more will have been affected by them.  Some believe Mr. Zimmerman should be locked away, others believe he was justified in the shooting and should remain free.

As a teenager I grew up in a middle class neighborhood with a pretty good mix of nationalities.  My house was in walking distance from school so most days my brother and I would walk.  Well one unsuspecting winter morning on our way to school, we notice this car following slowly behind us.  So we began to slow down to make sure this was the case and if so, confront the stalker.  As we made it obvious that we were on to the pursuit, the driver steps on the gas coming within inches of hitting us both.  A rather lager white male jumps out of the car with a badge in hand and aggressively approaches.  “What are you boys doing in this neighborhood?”  He demanded.  Ok, keep in mind that we were carrying books, we were literally a half block away from the school at 7 am on a Tuesday.  So I  responded sarcastically, “We looking for some white women.”  The fluctuation in his face color from red to purple was a slight indication of his displeasure with my remark.  “Don’t get funny with me boy!  I’ll lock your ass up for trespassing.  There was a breakin in this area and y’all fit the description (what was the description? “Uh, yeah Charlie we’re looking for two black guys walking to school carrying books and lunches…over).  Now where are you going and why are you wearing this big coat?”….(SMH) “We’re headed off to school officer ‘Friendly’, I said calmly, and I’m only wearing this big coat because it’s FOURTY- THREE DEGREES OUT HERE!”

After an impromptu pat down to make sure we weren’t carrying any weapons he returned to his car and followed us all the way into the parking lot of the school and didn’t leave until we were inside. That made for an interesting rest of the day.  Who was I going to tell of this harassment; my teacher, the principle, other cops?  Now, from that point I began to hate all cops, especially white ones.  Becoming a victim of an institution that was designed to protect you it’s akin to a child being molested by a trusted family member.

As you can see this ordeal stirred up negative feelings within me and I applied the feelings of what one police officer did to all police officers.  In the end it’s really just a primitive self-defense mechanism.  Remember, when your emotions are at their highest is when you’re at your most suggestive state.  So in both of these adventures, my mind labeled these people as threats and subconsciously prepared a defense plan if I were to ever face the same events again.  

This is how suggestibility killed Trayvon and so many other innocent profile ‘fitters’.  At the core of it all is lack of emotional control.  I guarantee you that if he could replay that day over again he would decide that his emotions were getting the best of him and he’d let the cops handle it.  It’s always ‘after’ the fact that we can see things so clearly…why is that?  It’s because the emotions are no longer present and you can now see what was there all along.  I hate emotions!  (ha) They are liars, omnipresent deceivers of men/women that we can’t live without, we can only hope to modify them in some meaningful way.

Now that I’m older, I’ve let go of most of the injustices I’ve encountered in the past, I’ve even stopped racially profiling people wearing sagging pants and started profiling everyone! lol!!….seriously.  I don’t hate the police or white people, instead I’ve learned to focus my energy on changing the way I see things by looking past how I ‘feel’ about them and helping others to  do the same.

One final note… if young ‘men’ stopped committing crimes wearing hoodies, there wouldn’t be a fear of someone wearing one and if people realized that good and bad lives in us all, there’d be less ‘racial’ profiling and more of and effort to promote the good in those same people. It was everyone that came before us that shaped the mind-set of the world today, it is now up to us to make the world what it’ll be for our children tomorrow.

-Dehypnotize

12 responses to “How Suggestibility Killed Trayvon Martin ll

  1. This story is a tradgedy. And until these ridiculous laws are changed this is something that will continue to get out of hand. What is the stand your ground law really doing to our society. The law states that the threat doesn’t have to be real, but if i feel as though you MIGHT harm me then i can use deadly force. And then go to court and say i would like to use the stand your ground law, now keep in mind the other party is dead and therefore cannot speak for themselves. This is obsurd, and i hope that people would wake up and make a difference by voting against these types of laws. I hope justice is served.

    • Amen Sister!! I don’t think true justice can ever be served in cases like this. We can only hope to learn from the mistakes of others and teach those lessons to the ones coming behind.

  2. This story is a true tragedy. It’s so hard to hear, in these waking days of such a loss, that this case is being swept under the rug.

    Cops did not handle in on the night, seeing as the shooter still has his gun, regardless of a manslaughter charge or not, he should NOT be allowed to hold onto the weapon which killed a teenager armed with a bag of candy and ice tea. We do not feel confident in the system, or how it will be handled in the days to come.

    Kindness and justice are becoming forgotten in these days of globalization, its cruel and unjust how much any kind of profiling effects our social structure.

    The Eye.
    http://theeyeoffaith.com

  3. I been in that situation more times than I like to remember and my mouth was ridiculous. It’s sad that it seems we as black men and boys get caught up in those scenarios all across the country. It’s 2012, you mean to tell me besides a ladies restroom there are still places an African American male shouldn’t be seen at?

    • Ha, I totally agree. I believe education is the key and we can’t continue to wait for it we as black men/boys must go get it! Thanks for your views on this.

Leave a Reply

