Revelations

The book of Revelation has always been intriguing to me, in that it seems to cover up more than it reveals.  The metaphors and similes leave a great deal of information to be interpreted by the reader.  If you’re like most people you leave that up to the more learned individual.  There could be a college course on that book alone.

So,  what is Revelations trying to show to us?  The signs that befall the end of the world?  The final battle between good and evil?  Maybe its to show us what heaven is going to be like once we die…of course if you make it.  Whatever the reason for it, it has been the cause of much debate from it’s inception.  Now,  as a preacher’s kid,  I heard just about every interpretation of this book that one could imagine, but none of them ever satisfied my desire for clarity.

There are so many versions of what’s right and what’s wrong I was not sure what to believe.  I’ve read that the reason for the bible being written in parables and metaphors is so that only certain people would get the understanding of it…  Hold on let me make sure I have this correct.  Your father has life saving or life altering information for your but he hides it from you to make sure you really want it?  By the way if you don’t find what was hidden from you, your punishment is not a failing grade but eternal torture…talk about the punishment not fitting the crime.

Another question I had was, with the universe being as large as it is, why was satan banished to the one place that we know of where humans live?  Also, if God couldn’t deal with him in his house how in the world am I supposed to deal with him in mine?  Then there’s the angels and demons coming down and mating with earthly women.  So, the women of earth are so attractive that even the angels and demons can’t resist them but I as a man should be able to?

Now I know this is where I’ll lose a lot of people because there’s one thing that you don’t mess with when it comes to any person and that’s their belief system.  Ironically that’s the very thing that should be messed with in our lives.  Most of what we believe has been passed down through family tradition so this is what becomes ‘right’ to us.  Ask any black Republican if it’s ok to not think like the masses.  Ask any white person in a mixed race relationship if it’s ok to not think like the masses.  We live in a society of cookie cutter, brainwashed ignorance and although our intentions are good the outcome is much less attractive.

For example most religions teach that you should love your neighbor and treat them the way you’d like to be treated… unless they don’t believe like you do.  How many God sanctioned wars have been carried out over the past millenia for this cause?  How many people have lost their lives due to cultural practices of this era.    This way of thinking persists even until today where a father, in some countries, can murder his daughter for bringing shame to the family by not marrying her cousin.  This practice is done to keep the bloodline pure… wouldn’t want them mating with other humans now.

I’m not telling you what to believe or not I’m only saying don’t believe what you do because that’s what you were told by your parents or because everyone else believes it…(I know, not you.)  Most of the stress in our lives is self-induced but we’re too blinded by the trees of suggestion to see the forests of illusion we live in.

Dehypnotize

8 responses to “Revelations

  1. Another well written post! I love that you are challenging people to make their own beliefs instead of following what they were raised with. Having been born and raised in a very strict religious home it was hard for me to find my own spiritual voice. I recently wrote a rather large post about faith and why I think the bible is almost all grey area myself.

    Thanks for the read.

  2. Well, I’m glad I’m not the only one feeling the way you do. I’ve gotten into a lot of arguments and debates over the years. Most of which has been stressful. I have my reasons why I don’t call myself a Christian anymore, and I have always had hard times with the Bible. I guess maybe I’m agnostic, but I’m not even sure. What “messed” me up? Well, I finally decided to read the Bible. I was left with more questions than I was answers, and some of the questions you addressed I questioned. Yeah, I was told if I have questions to go to the preacher for some answers. Well, that turned out well.

    Still, it makes me wonder if dragons really did exist and they’re sleeping. There’s a movie that’s called Reign of Fire. It’s one of my favorite movies. No sex, no drug usage, not a lot of cussing. But when I mention it I get ridiculed because believe that dragons are evil and of the devil, possibly demons themselves. On the contrary, Reign of Fire has a different twist.

    I don’t like to mess around with people’s belief systems. As long as we get along is what counts to me.

    • I totally agree. It seems that more and more people are at least starting to ask questions…that’s a good sign. Thanks for reading and thanks for commenting too!!

  3. Allow me to screw with the set teachings even further:

    “The word theion translated ‘brimstone’ is exactly the same word theion which means ‘divine.’ Sulfur was sacred to the deity among the ancient Greeks; and was used to fumigate, to purify, and to cleanse and to consecrate to the deity; for this purpose they burned it in their incense. In Homer’s Iliad (16:228) one is spoken of as purifying a goblet with fire and brimstone. The verb derived from theion is theioo, which means to hallow, to make divine, or to dedicate to a god. (See Liddell and Scott Greek-English Lexicon, 1897 Edition.)
    “To any Greek, or to any trained in the Greek language, a ‘lake of fire and brimstone’ would mean a ‘lake of divine purification.’ The idea of judgment need not be excluded (see Chapter on The Judgments of God). Divine purification and divine consecration are the plain meaning in ancient Greek. ” – Charles Pridgeon
    There’s more here: http://www.tentmaker.org/books/is_hell_eternal/ch11_lake_fire.html

    I feel very fortunate that I was raised in a lax Catholic household and was able to explore and study scripture without the pressure of maintaining a particular set of beliefs. I hold to the really old creeds of the early church, but have always felt free to let scripture say what it says and not what people say it says. In my experience, those places where scripture and reality seem to conflict or even where the teachings of the “church” and scripture seem to conflict are nearly always very fertile ground. Of course, this often puts me on the outside of “proper” Christian conversation, but I’d rather hold to God’s truth than men’s approval anyways. Welcome to the dark side, friend! 😉

    • Hey Rebecca! Thanks for stopping by and thank you for your insight on this matter. I’m so glad to know that there are actually others willing to ask the question… huh? lol

Leave a Reply

